Almond Apple Banana Smoothie

Almond Apple Banana Smoothie.

First off, happy 2013! The old has gone, and the new come.

I believe everyone has had their fair share of highlights in the past year — and while we remember the good, let’s also forget the bad (learn from them, too) then look forward to better things :)

I haven’t been able to keep up with the blog in the past few months. Changes will come but possibly slower than expected; yet it’s all about taking things one at a time! I’m just happy to have all of you with me on this journey.

Today being 1st January, I thought I’d start off the new year with something simple and healthy to share. And these two are also part of the goals I had set for myself when I first started sharing. It’s nice, then, to remind myself and to have things go full circle.

I hope you enjoy this easy-to-make and super refreshing almond apple banana smoothie!

Almond Apple Banana Smoothie with cinnamon and Greek yogurt, yum!

Smoothies are great as a tummy-filler and does the job without you having to put on empty calories (we’re talking about the healthy ones here, mostly homemade). The process also takes place all in one blender, which is suitable for the lazy — or practical? ;)

Adding to this list of advantages is also the fact that the combinations of fruit, vegetables, nuts and liquids go on and on.

This one’s a bit like having an almond banana cake. Except in a drink, and I’m betting less than half the calories! Oh, and let’s just say we’re replacing the cream with Greek yogurt that is very, very good for you… Ha, at times we just got to trick our body into eating healthy like that!

Almond Apple Banana Smoothie

Yield: 2-3 cups (depending on cup size)

  • 8 ice cubes
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup fresh milk
  • Small handful of baked or toasted almonds
  • One red apple, skin removed then cubed
  • One medium banana, roughly sliced
  • 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (I use Mundella honey Greek yogurt)
  • Pinch of ground cinnamon

Directions

1. Blend the ice cubes, milk and almonds together on low speed (mine’s the first knob) just to get the ice broken up and almonds chopped up.

2. Once you achieve a almond milk mixture, add in the apple cubes, banana slices, Greek yogurt and ground cinnamon. Blend until smooth.

**NOTE: Thickness of your smoothie typically depends on two things: milk and yogurt, although different foods or fruits will also affect the viscosity. As a general rule: milk = thinning, yogurt = thickening. For this particular smoothie I find it easier to drink when thinner, otherwise the almond bits could get a bit clunky down your throat. So adjust to your preference!

Juices and smoothies are also my go-to when I need a quick food intake. Ever since I got a new blender late last year, it’s been a lot of experimenting in the kitchen and after a while you learn what types of foods go best together, which you like, and which you could do without. There’s more juicing coming right up!

Almond Apple Banana Smoothie.

Back to reflecting on the turn of the new year: personally, I’m really thankful for all that God has blessed me with in 2012. Chief of which is that I’m still well and alive, and ready for the next phase of my life.

People always talk about starting right. That’s very true, and I suppose also why we make resolutions. Though we don’t always keep them, it’s good to have goals to prevent us from straying too far.

So I hope you start your 2013 right — with friends, family, love, positivity and of course, eating well. Blessings for everyone! x

One comment

Leave a Reply

