Vegetable Stir-fry: Sweet Beans, Carrots, Onions and Eggs (and Oranges?)

Vegetable Stir-fry: Sweet Beans, Carrots, Onions and Eggs

A few months ago, I decided to pick up simple, healthy cooking. I admit I used to be really afraid of the kitchen, and a tad too apathetic as well — “What’s the big deal with cooking? It’s dirty work and time-consuming. I just want to have food on my plate and to eat it.”

Yet, as I’ve discovered, it’s really not that hard once you get the hang of it. In fact, I dare say I’ve been drawn to the Dark Side: addiction to cooking! 😀

Why I say this is particularly fun is because staying on campus means I’ve got limited grocery supplies in the fridge. Each weekend I’ll stock up at the local supermarket and whatever I get has to last me the week (painful, I know). And so I took it upon myself as a challenge to create healthy, yummy dishes in whatever combinations my taste buds deem fit. It’s all like a game, really!

Today’s feature is something I created last week for lunch.

It’s got the right mix of vegetable, protein and oil so I’m taking a bet here by saying it’s a pretty decent addition to your meal!

Vegetable Stir-fry: Sweet Beans, Carrots, Onions and Egg

Yield: one small side serving for lunch/dinner

  • 1 packet sweet beans
  • 1 whole carrot
  • 1 big white onion
  • 1 large egg (you may wish to include 2 but I only had one with me that day!)
  • 1 to 1 1/2 tbsp fresh milk (I used low-fat milk)
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 1/2 tbsp grapeseed oil (it’s a healthier option compared to the usual cooking oil)
  • Salt and black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Prepare a small pot of water, covered, over the stove on medium heat.
  2. Wash the carrot and skin it. Using a knife, chop it into small cubes. Set it aside.
  3. Wash the sweet beans and remove the fiber on both sides of the bean. (This refers to the strip that is on the inside and outside curve of the “crescent” of the bean. Removing it can be done simply using a knife. This is optional, however; I like to remove this bit to that it’s easier to chew after being cooked.) Set it aside.
  4. Once the water is boiling, put the carrot cubes into the pot and cover it. Leave the cubes in until water boils again.
  5. While waiting for the water to boil, finely chop the garlic. Cut the big onion into thin slices. Set both aside.
  6. Drain the carrot cubes once done. (When you remove the cover, the smell of carrots should be pretty strong! This is how the self-taught “chef” yours truly works haha.) Set it aside.
  7. Prepare your saucepan on medium to high heat over the stove. Drizzle the grapeseed oil over.
  8. After about 2 minutes, add the garlic into the pan. When it turns a slight golden brown and starts sizzling, now you are ready to stir-fry!!!
  9. First, add in the sweet beans. Stir until the beans become softer. Following which, add in the carrot cubes and big onion slices. Let it simmer.
  10. In a small bowl, beat the egg. Add in the milk and stir until mixed. You should get a pale yellow colour for the mixture.
  11. Stir the ingredients in the pan occasionally. When the onions in the pan have become soft and an off-white colour, you can pour the egg into the pan. Add a dash of salt and pepper in the pan.
  12. Stir-fry until egg is cooked. Remove from stove and serve!

~

I know this is going to sound strange, but: I have this thing about adding fruits to my meals. And no, they are not eaten separately but TOGETHER. And so what I did for this meal was to cut a huge, juicy Barnsfield orange into cubes and throw it into the dish just before eating it (not shown in the photo, unfortunately).

My, oh my, was it divine! The crunchiness of the sweet beans, the tartness of the onions and the heaven that is garlic (I love garlic, by the way)… Topped with sweet, plump and cold orange cubes as a finishing touch!

If you’re game enough, do try! Let me know how it goes for you 😀

Leave a Reply

