Blueberry Jam Topping

Mountain of mini waffles topped with blueberry heaven.

I’m feeling really excited as I write this.

My summer attachment has been eating away my weekdays (even nights), since I’m doing a desk-bound job no less. Ah, such is life.

But that invigorates the weekends all the more. I appreciate the TGIF syndrome like I haven’t before. All through the week, I make plans for cooking and baking, building up that adrenaline…

Yes, I have awesome kitchen plans this weekend 🙂

But first, let’s start with breakfast. (Naturally.)

In fact, I could eat breakfast all day. Breakfast for breakfast, breakfast for brunch, breakfast for lunch, breakfast for tea, breakfast for dinner. And what comes after? Breakfast for supper!

Breakfast, breakfast, breakfast. I am a breakfast junkie.

Last night I could hardly sleep without thinking about breakfast. My Dad was going to make blueberry jam!

In my family we have this habit (perhaps one that will turn into a tradition?) of making fresh jam. It’s really quick, requires only two ingredients and is also healthy.

Blueberry Jam Topping

Yield: Approximately 1 1/2 cups jam

  • 1-1 1/2 pack blueberries
  • 2-3 tbsp raw honey, brown sugar or caster sugar (I used organic raw honey)

Directions

1. Wash the blueberries and place them in a small pot over the stove on low to medium heat.

2. Cook for 5 minutes, constantly stirring with a spoon so that the berries won’t burn. After a while, they should start to reduce.

3. Stirring all the while, after about 10 minutes the consistency should be thicker than water, though less viscous than jam. This signals it is almost ready! Turn the heat down a little.

4. Add in the honey/brown sugar/caster sugar (whichever you are using) and stir until completely dissolved. The mixture should be slightly thickened by now.

5. Depending on how reduced you want the berries to me, leave on for a little longer or switch off the heat and remove from stove. Serve if having immediately or allow to cool and store in jam bottles for up to two weeks.

It’s strange how blueberries look blue on the outside but turn a deep purple once reduced. Take your cue from the colour change to know when it’s ready! Hey, as they say, purple is the colour of royalty 😉

Leave a Reply

