BLT Steak Salad

I missed out the cheese that would've made it look just that little bit better.

So it’s common knowledge I love beef. I also love having myself a good BLT sandwich.

My parents are currently away in Malaysia, and will only be back later in week. With my Dad not around to make dinner, the responsibility naturally fell on my shoulders to “tank”. I blame my ovaries — wait, before you freak out at my preposterously crude remark, do understand it’s because I have two brothers and being the only daughter… You get my drift.

Now this is really a challenge. Settling my meal is easy; I’m O.K. with quick salads or sandwiches. My brothers? Hm, not so much.

Check out my attempt at striking a balance: give and take, with a little compromise.

A salad that’s inspired from a sandwich and that also has meat in it? Whoa, it’s like everything that describes me, plus bacon — yes, bacon again! — that probably represents hints of my brothers’ preferences. I mean, you could totally think of it that way, hey? I love food so much I don’t mind being one with it…

Anyway, I took the classic BLT and did away with the bread. (Just extra carbs I can so do without.)

Try this open-faced BLT where the B, L and T are nestling on a glorious bed of Romaine. I’ve also added steak and cheese. (Extra protein and fat I couldn’t care less about putting on.) Oh, yum.

Damn, those colours!

BLT Steak Salad

Adapted from Bobby Deen’s recipe

Yield: 2-3 servings (depending on whether you serve it as a side or main)

  • 300g flank steak, trimmed
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper to season
  • 3 slices turkey bacon (or streaky bacon)
  • 1 tbsp and 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp cider vinegar (I used organic apple)
  • 1 tsp Dijonnaise mustard
  • 150 g Romaine lettuce (I used hearts)
  • A large handful of halved cherry tomatoes
  • 1 medium-sized red onion, chopped
  • Mild cheddar or crumbled blue cheese to garnish (optional)

Directions

1. Heat the teaspoon of olive oil in a skillet (I used Happy Call) over medium heat. Meanwhile, sprinkle the steak with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

2. Place the steak in the skillet and cook for 5 minutes on each side for medium-rare. Once cooked, remove from pan and transfer to a cutting board. Set aside, letting the meat rest for 5 minutes before cutting.

3. Place the bacon slices into the same skillet and cook until crisp and browned. While they are cooking, cut the steak at an angle against the grain into slices of desired thickness and set aside.

4. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the remaining olive oil, cider vinegar, Dijonnaise and a pinch of salt. Once fully combined, Add the lettuce, tomatoes and onions. Toss to coat well.

5. Transfer the salad onto a platter. Top with the steak slices and garnish with crumbled bacon and cheese, if using. Serve immediately and enjoy! 🙂

My humble little workstation.

2 comments

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back in the future. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great work, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

