No-Bake Fruit & Nut Nutella Bars

Here’s another addition to the no-bake list, if you recall my other no-bake dessert. In fact, I should also start making another list for the uses of Nutella in baking. There are just too many.

Everybody loves Nutella. You can’t go wrong with that.

Today, I added Nutella into one of my favourite snacks: granola bars. And it’s made it my new favourite snack.

I know I promised some time back to post my homemade granola recipe, but that’ll still have to wait. (Good things are worth the wait.) For now, let’s be content with Nutella. We can always count on Nutella like a best friend — like one of life’s simple joys.

My bars are partially organic. The dried fruits and nuts that I’ve used are, so I suppose that counts?

Platter of goodness.

Either way, I would like to think these bars are healthy. Rolled oats are awesome, as I’ve justified previously. Plus dark chocolate is good, right? And so is raw honey. The only “cheat” ingredients would have to be butter, sugar and Nutella, but these are foods we know we can’t do without…

After all, making your own bars is so much healthier than store-bought ones. I cannot emphasize this enough. Don’t be fooled.

No-Bake Fruit & Nut Nutella Bars

Yield: 12 small bars

Adapted from Todd Porter’s recipe on White On Rice Couple

  • 1 cup organic rolled oats
  • 1 cup organic dried fruit (I used prunes, dates and raisins)
  • 1 1/2 cup roasted mixed nuts (I used walnuts, almonds and macadamia)
  • 1/3 cup organic seeds (I used sunflower seeds)
  • 1/2 cup chopped dark chocolate (or dark chocolate chips)
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup raw organic honey
  • 1/4 cup Nutella
  • Salt to taste

*Note: The proportions are actually all just an estimate. I put in as much fruit and nuts (even chocolate or Nutella) as I want; so can you! Baking is all about proportions anyway, so increase and decrease accordingly 🙂

Directions

1. Line an 8 x 6 inch pan with aluminum foil and lightly butter the foil. Set aside.

2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the rolled oats, dried fruit, nuts, seeds and chocolate. Set aside.

Mountain of colour.

3. In a small saucepan, heat the butter, brown sugar, honey and Nutella over medium heat. Using a wooden spatula, whisk the mixture until the butter melts and a smooth consistency is achieved.

4. Remove the saucepan from the fire and pour the Nutella mixture over the oats mixture. Stir until the oats mixture is completely coated; the dark chocolate should start to melt at this point and the smell would be an indication.

5. Transfer the mixture to the lined pan, spreading it out evenly. Press the mixture firmly down to pack the ingredients together. Lightly sprinkle salt on top.

6. Place the pan into the refridgerator and chill for about an hour until firm.

7. Once firm, use the foil to lift out of the pan and cut into bars of desired thickness. Enjoy!

OKAY, I admit I just spent a whole post acting as a martyr for these bars. Death by Nutella? Come at me, bro!!! But really, you’ve got to try them for yourself to understand why they are a hundred percent worth the sacrifice 😀

Leave a Reply

