Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread, all gift-wrapped.

Blueberries have been on sale at the local supermarket!

I was so excited when I first found out, because they aren’t cheap over here. Plus, they go really well with my bakes, and I was just about to start the rhythm of baking again.

So I made some blueberry banana buttermilk bread (oh, the beautiful alliteration) on a whim.

Best of all, I made little portions which are just great for sharing!

Adorn with fresh blueberries, wrap with baking paper, throw on a cute bow… And you’re all set.

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread, packed for my girlfriends :)

Exactly what I did for my girlfriends, and to hear their squeals of excitement when I “unveiled” these little babies: pure bliss! ♥

Blueberries in the batter!

It’s been a good day today. I woke early to take a few more photos of these babies in the morning light, went for a swim, had a news writing class in the evening. And now, I’m having my favourite yogurt and fruits, while doing one of my other favourite things: sharing a recipe.

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread: want a slice?

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread

Adapted from Chung-Ah’s recipe on Damn Delicious

Yield: 3 small loaves

  • 2 3/4 cups plain flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/8 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/8 cup buttermilk
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 ripe bananas, lightly mashed (I only had 2, which gave just a hint of banana; use more if you like!)
  • 1 1/2 cup blueberries

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 176 degrees C (approximately 350 degrees F). Butter three 7.5 x 3.5 inch small (or any approximate of this size) baking pans.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. Using a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment (I use a Kenwood stand mixer), cream the butter and sugar for about 2 to 4 minutes until fully combined and the consistent is light and fluffy.
  4. On low speed, beat in the eggs, buttermilk and vanilla. Between each addition, make sure to beat until mixture is combined.
  5. Beat in the mashed banana until well combined.
  6. Gradually add in the flour mixture, stopping the mixer and scraping down the sides when necessary to make sure the batter is fully combined.
  7. Gently stir in the blueberries, making sure not to pop them. Always stir in one direction and never cut the batter.
  8. Scoop the batter evenly into the baking pans and place into the oven. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  9. Remove from oven and allow to cool on a standing rack for 15 minutes before inverting them onto the rack to cool completely.
  10. Pretty them up and give, give, give away! 🙂

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread!

They tasted pretty good, for a first time! And I had some reviews, let me tell you.

Now that I’ve posted the recipe, I know I have at least three people who will be trying it out hehe.

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread.

Anddddd, just to tempt you further, I have photos. A LOT of photos.

Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread served with cream cheese spread! Breakfast!

Spread on some cream cheese and you have the most amazing breakfast.

Preachy as it may sound, one of the things I enjoy most about baking is the opportunity to bless others! I believe that God has blessed me with these two little hands that love to create food, and in so doing I should impact those around me.

It’s truly the joy of giving — and the satisfaction from happy stomachs and souls that come with it.

In some ways, it’s kind of what keeps you going too 🙂

If I may be so bold: I hope you’d be challenged to think about what talent you’ve been blessed with that you may use to bless others.

Trust me, you’ll find it’s not so hard after all. x

Pretty Blueberry Banana Buttermilk Bread.

14 comments

  1. Your buttermilk loaf looks beautiful and seems like a wonderful cake to make for an elegant brunch, especially when wrapped up so nicely into individual portions. The combination of banana, blueberries and a little vanilla sounds delicious too. Thanks for sharing the great recipe

    1. Hello, thank you! Normally I use parchment paper that is brandless (I think) for my baking, but for this presentation I used GLAD Bake Paper. It’s the same brand as GLAD Wrap – the clear one you use for food. Hope that helps! x

  2. Pingback: Homepage
  3. Pingback: yaourt
  4. Pingback: find out

Leave a Reply

