4 (Completely Wearable) Spring/Summer 2014 Trends

So it’s already pretty long into Spring/Summer 2014 but here I am to give a round up of my top 4 street and runway trends I’m really into this season 🙂

Trends have to be wearable — that’s one big criteria for me when I try out a new style. Sometimes it’s great to go on the wild (and I mean really wild) side, but most times we just want fuss-free, clean and classic looks that keep us on-trend and looking ever so put-together.

All that just reminds me of Jeannie Mai; have I mentioned how much I fangirl her? That aside, let’s see where else I get my inspiration from…

1. FLORALS

Ready to get your floral on!

From left: Leonard SS/14, Tory Burch SS/14 and Marks & Spencer SS14

Yes, spring is all about full-on blooms. But this year, the runways take it a step further with bold botanicals and flat florals. And oh, did I mention floral is for summer too? Just think resort palms! Cue: Michael Kors SS/14 which I really love. I’m still in search of more tropical-inspired pieces since I’m a girl on a budget (say goodbye to designer wear and hello high-street). But that shouldn’t stop us from embracing all things nature, and look at that pantsuit! ♥

2. THE CROP

Spring Summer 2014: crop tops that go well with palazzo pants!

From left: Badgley Mischka Spring 14, Proenza Schouler SS/14 and BCBG Max Azria SS14

It is time to bare that belly! Wait, no, I mean… Those abs. Yup, midriffs are peeking out this season and it seems like this is a look to stay. As temperatures rise (and is constantly rising here in SG) it’s time to go shorter and hotter — not before you work that abdomen, though. I find crop tops and bralets (for the daring) are best paired with wide-legged trousers or palazzo pants: show some skin without revealing it all, plus the high waist helps with elongating those gams 😉

3. DIGITAL PRINTS

Spring Summer 2014 Digital Mosaic Print Trend.

From left: Mary Katrantzou SS/14, Milly by Michelle Smith SS/14 and Dolce Gabbana SS14

While this may be more of a micro trend, I’m really enjoying the mosaic and digital printing going on. Especially when it’s a neoprene fabric, somehow there’s a lux to it that I find particularly appealing. This is easy to wear, makes a statement on its own, and accessories can be kept to a minimum — or go without. And as the photos show, strappy heels seem to be a must!

4. HALF-MOONS (for nails)

Milly Spring Summer 2014 Butter London Half Moon Manicure

Milly at NYFW SS/14 nails by Butter London

These nails are really classic, and terribly easy to DIY. The trend seems to be white/nude colour palettes, which of course translates to going well with any outfit! I’ll be posting up a tutorial next week on half-moon manicures so look out for that 🙂

I read the main fashion titles monthly in SG and also scour the net (hey Google best friend) for trends and inspiration when I sometimes feel like my style needs refreshing.

Tumblr is a good source of fashion inspiration, though I haven’t been active on my account since they upgraded their look, but you can check out pages like Zalora (I mean, come on, if they’ve got Cara Delevingne and Emma Watson on their feed, you know you’re in the right place), fashion-trend and Street Peak.

If you’re interested to see what fashion trends and looks I personally love, I update my Pinterest boards often: from bags and shoes to nails! I also post #OOTDs on my Instagram from time to time 🙂

‘Til next time, lovelies! x

Leave a Reply

